The Return.

I would like to take a moment to introduce all of you to my new blog. Some you may remember me from my days as a sports blogger for the poorly named blogs: “Venting About Sports” and “Baltimore Blog Spot.” As you can see, I have matured quite a bit as a writer since then. However, my ability to give a blog a decent name remains below par.

For those of you who did not have the privilege of reading some of my previous work, I am going to take the time now to explain a little bit about myself.

My name is Mike Mills. I grew up in a middle class suburban neighborhood fifteen minutes outside of Baltimore. As a child and teenager, my world revolved around sports. If I wasn’t watching sports, I was playing them. At one point or another I realized my chances of becoming a professional athlete were slim, so I decided to pursue the next best thing: a career as a sports journalist. I can still recall the exact moment I realized I wanted to make a career out of writing about sports.

It was a summer night at Camden Yards. The Orioles were playing the Rangers in the second game of a double-header. The sun was just beginning to descend behind the scoreboard in right-center field. I moved to the row of seats that was directly below the press box. It was the most breathtaking spot in the entire stadium. Not only was the view amazing, but I could hear the press stirring behind me. After a play of significance, a voice would come on over an intercom in the press box and announce an interesting stat. I don’t remember who won that game, but I remember that moment, and I remember leaving Camden Yards that night knowing I was going to be a sports journalist.

Eventually my sports blogs would fall by the wayside. For the first time in my life music began to compete with sports for my attention. I went through a phase where I was infatuated with “Almost Famous.” I would dream about going on tour with a band and writing about my experiences.

Although my interests have wavered, writing has remained a constant variable in my life. Thank you for taking the time to learn a little bit about me. I look forward to gracing your computer screens with news, stories, anecdotes, and much more.IMG_1492

Leave a Reply

